Tierra del Fuego

Terra Australis Incognito

Tierra del Fuego or Terra Australis Incognito – that is how the first sailors and explorers called this mystic landscape at the furthest reaches of the planet. The archipelago consists of the main island, Isla Grande, and many smaller islands including Cape Horn. The natural limits of the “Land of Fire” are the Pacific Ocean to the west and the Atlantic Ocean to the east. Tierra del Fuego is divided between Chile and Argentina. This island was settled in the past by Indian tribes like the Selknam or Yamanas, sea nomads whose natural habitat were the surroundings of Navarino and Hoste Islands as well as European colonists from Croatia, Scotland and England, attracted by the gold rush and sheep farming industry.

A trek in Tierra del Fuego offers the chance for a true off-the-beaten-track experience. It’s no wonder this archipelago was once known as the end of the world – and you won’t find an adventure travel company with more experience in navigating this remote corner of Chile & Argentina than us. Let us take you on an adventure amid the sparkling lakes and jutting rocks of the Dientes de Navarino Circuit on the Isla Navarino. See wild beavers building their dams, glide over the mountaintops in a light aircraft and visit tiny, picture-perfect towns like Puerto Williams. Another highlight is exploring the area around Ushuaia, the world’s southernmost city, where sea lions, dolphins, penguins and an abundance of other seabirds await.